Guided tours

Lichfield Tour Guides

Our team of enthusiastic and knowledgeable guides have been showing groups around Lichfield for over 25 years and provide a varied programme of insightful and historic tours throughout the year.

Tours last for approximately 1.5 hours each, other than those which include refreshments. 

How to book tickets

Please note that booking is essential for all tours - we will take your contact details when you book, so we can contact you if there are any problems.

To book, call our Tourist Information team on 01543 308924 or call into the TIC in Lichfield Library which is open 9.30am to 4pm Monday to Saturday. For more information email info@visitlichfield.com

If you do want to book on the day, please call our tourist information team on 01543 308924 or visit our TIC in advance of the tour to check availability. We cannot guarantee spaces will be available on the day.

Please wear sensible shoes and appropriate clothing, especially on the winter evening tours.

There are a minimum and maximum number of people for each tour, should a tour need to be cancelled due to insufficient numbers or bad weather, a full refund will be given. Full terms and conditions are available on request.

Summer Tours 2019

Make a choice from our selection of summer tours. 

These are 90 minute tours at a cost of £6 per person - please contact the Tourist Information staff on 01543 308924 to book your place. 

 

History and Heritage

Learn more about Lichfield's interesting and varied past with this introductory History and Heritage tour.

Dates: Tuesday 4 June, 2pm  & Wednesday 3 July, 2pm


Civil War 

Dig a bit deeper and find out more about Lichfield in the Civil War. Join our friendly and knowledgeable guide on a tour of the city and discover this fascinating period in history. 

Dates: Wednesday 12 June, 2pm 

 

Discover Lichfield Tour

Enjoy a tour of the city and an overview of it's history and heritage. 

Dates:

Friday 12 July, 4pm

Friday 19 July,10.30am

Sunday 21 July, 3pm

Saturday 27 July, 3pm

Sunday 28 July, 3pm

Friday 2 August, 6pm

Saturday 10 August, 6.30pm

Friday 16 August, 6pm

Thursday 22 August, 2pm

Saturday 31 August, 3pm

 

Georgian Gems

Lichfield has some excellent examples of Georgian Architecture for you to enjoy - Our enthusiastic guide will share her vast knowledge about these buildings and invite you into the lives of Georgian Lichfeldians.

Dates: Tuesday 2 July, 2pm

 

Behind Close Doors

One for nosy neighbours! Join our enlightened guide with an insight to the Cathedral Close and its inhabitants past and present.

Dates: Wednesday 10 July, 2pm 

 

Pool Walk with St. Chad

Learn about St. Chad, his contemporaries and the Midland Saints.

Dates: Friday 12 July, 6pm

 

Ghosts of Lichfield

Ghosts, Ghouls and things that go BUMP in the night! - Lichfield has them all!

Dates: Tuesday 16 July & Thursday 15 August, 7.30pm 

 

Pubs, Priests and Prostitutes

Find out about the fascinating history of Lichfield pubs and the characters in and around Lichfield city streets.
Dates: Wednesday 7 August, 2pm

 

Hideous History

Bloodthirsty tales of Lichfield aimed to entertain youngsters.

Dates: Thursday 29 August, 2pm

 

Private and Group Tours


Visit Lichfield are pleased to offer a wide range of private and group tours, please email your requirements to info@visitlichfield.com and we will email you back with a quote, alternatively please call our Tourism Officer to discuss your requirements on 01543 308924.

Meet our Tour Guides

To find out more about our tour guides go to our meet the guides page.