Monks Walk Garden is a charming hidden garden in the grounds of Chapter House, Monks Close. The public has free access during the day.
Feel free to visit, spend time and contemplate in our beautiful surroundings.
The garden was restored to is former glory in 2003, thanks to the Monks Walk Restoration Group. Thanks to the work of the group, paths have been restored, new signage has been installed and herbaceous borders have been planted.
Local schools also use the gardens as a teaching facility and pupils from Queens Croft School helped to create the garden's nature area.
The garden was once a part of a wider area originally occupied by the Franciscan Friary site.
It may have been part of a former garden layout when the area was part of the property owned by Sir Richard Cooper, whose estate was given to the City of Lichfield in 1920 ‘for the permanent use and benefit of the citizens’. The Monks’ Walk became part of The Friary School in the 1920’s.
Getting here and parking
- Customer parking with charge
Entering the Building / Attraction
- The entrance is flat
The Secretary, Monks Walk Group
c/o Chapter House, Monks Close